Meet The Artist – Pamela Stirling

Who are you and what do you do?
My name is Pamela Stirling and I am predominately an animal artist who likes to dabble in other forms of art to have fun.  I draw rather than paint most of the time and I am very attached to my coloured pencils.

Why do you do what you do?
Have you ever done anything that makes you feel calm and excited, unsure and confident, passionate and comfortable all at the same time.  Something that gives you pleasure whether you are happy or sad and allows you to share that pleasure with others.  That is why I draw….
because I just can’t NOT draw.

How do you work?
I work from photographs, I am too slow to draw from life and I love to draw every possible detail to bring my portraits to life.  I start with a sketch to make sure I get all the bits in the right place then for me the magic starts when the colours do.  I build and build till it pops right out of the page, then I stop when I am happy.

What work do you most enjoying doing?
I love drawing close up snapshots of animals or people.  I love drawing eyes, I try to find the soul in them and build a connection to the viewer.

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?
A few years ago I nearly lost my youngest son in an attack that left him scarred for life.  It was a difficult time that showed me how precious life is and how easy it is for things to change.  I used to spend too much time worrying about how I should do things instead of just trying them.  My work was my sanctuary then and it changed a lot as I found a new courage to try what I wanted to do instead of being constrained by what I thought I could do.

Why art?
There is a saying “The Earth without Art is just ‘eh’” and that is how it is for me.  The world just doesn’t make sense without it.  If I am not creating art I am looking at what other people are creating.  I love to see how others work and what inspires them.

What memorable responses have you had to your work?
I have had people burst into tears when they see my work…in a good way.  If I recreate their pet in a way that reflects their character as well as looking like them it can strike a real chord with them.  I have to say I usually end up crying too.

What is your dream project?
I would like to work with a zoo or animal charity to produce a range of work to help promote conservation and the stamping out of animal cruelty.  One day I will.

Favourite or most inspirational place?
My favourite place to draw is the bottom of my garden by the river with the ducks and swans for company.  I enjoy the summer sunshine most but will also sit there with my jacket and fingerless gloves till my hands are so cold I can’t hold the pencils any more.

What wouldn’t you do without?
My husband – he brings me coffee to keep me working, helps me find the things I lose, fetches and carries, encourages and nags me, keeps me grounded so I don’t get above myself….and makes me smile

Everyone needs someone like that in their life, I am lucky I married mine.

That’s not him 🙂

You can see more about Pamela’s work and contact her through her website at

http://www.raspberrydoodles.co.uk

 

3 thoughts on “Meet The Artist – Pamela Stirling

  1. AMAZING………..watched her drawing at County Show, had no intentions of ever getting a portrait of our dog Barney but simply had to have one after seeing how the drawings leap out of the page and the characters are brought to life. How lucky are we to have Pam on our Island. Can’t wait to get our portrait.

Leave a comment