Meet the Artist – Heather Wilson

Who are you and what do you do?

I am Heather Wilson and I like to do acrylic seascapes and pencil drawing

Why do you do what you do?

I just feel that I have to!

How do you work?

Generally I am inspired by being on the sea and I try to capture some of that feeling

What’s your background?

I have always drawn for as long as I can remember, then I did many years of night school doing ceramics, then a drawing course, then watercolour and now acrylics

What art do you most identify with?

Depends what day it is

What work do you most enjoying doing?

Just being creative

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

Leaving Cherbourg at dawn and seeing the sun rise over the English channel over a flat sea

Why art?

Why not?

What memorable responses have you had to your work?

I like it when someone relates to an image, for example I have just sold a sunset beach painting with two dog walkers silhouetted with their dogs and they felt that it was them in the picture

What is your dream project?

Ah. I am also a musician and would love to compose music for my own exhibition

Favourite or most inspirational place?

The sea anywhere!

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Draw what you see and not what you think you see

Professionally, what’s your goal?

To be happy

What wouldn’t you do without?

My family

 

Leave a comment